The Maps tab inside the Dragonfly Web User Interface allows you to manage your maps.
Create a new map
As soon as you have done a proper mapping of your environment (or while doing it) you might want to save your progresses to avoid losing the work done. This can be done by clicking on the New Map button inside the Maps tab. Fill it with the name and the description of the map and press on Save. If the saving is successful, a new map appears in the list.
Weight of the maps on disk
The weight of a map related to an area of about 6000 m3 (made of about 20000 Map Points) is about 100 MB, for example.
Reset current map
If, for some reason, a map has been wrongly generated and the navigation experience is not satisfactory, it is possible to clear the current map and re-start the mapping process from scratch after having pressed the Reset map button. This will delete all the current progress, and restart the navigation with zero markers and zero map-points. This is a function we strongly suggest you use during your first tests of Dragonfly (while you are getting familiar with the mapping process). The Reset map button is also available as an icon inside the View tab next to the map name.
Synchronize with Onit Cloud server
The map management system implements a feature that allows a local saved map to be saved also on the Onit Cloud server. Doing so, a map created by one device can be shared among all the other devices running other Dragonfly instances and connected to the same Site ID. This avoids having to re-map the whole area with every new device that runs Dragonfly. In order to save a map in the cloud, just press the Sync Maps button. An Internet connection is required.
Pressing the Sync maps button will:
- upload to the Onit cloud server:
- all the locally saved maps that are more recent than the ones already existing on the Onit Cloud server.
- all the NEW maps that exist locally but do not exist on the Onit Cloud server.
- download from the Onit Cloud server:
- all the maps detected as more recent than the local ones.
- all the NEW maps not available locally.
How can you move/share heavy maps file between different machines?
You can move heavy maps manually using a USB dongle or with SCP as explained in this page.
Load a map
To load a map, press the 3-lines menu icon on the right side of the required map, and then press on the Load button. When a map is loaded, return to the View tab. The name of the loaded map should be displayed. If the navigation is started, it will automatically be resumed with the loaded map, and Dragonfly will recover its position within the loaded map.
Update a map
If a previously saved map has been extended or improved, it is possible to save the progress within the same map file by pressing the 3-lines menu icon on the right side of the required map, and then pressing on the Update button.
Update a map or create a new map?
During the mapping process and geo-referencing processes we encourage you to save the progresses done by creating NEW maps that contains all the progresses done until the saving processes. Why don’t we tell to update an existing map? Because if you create a NEW map you can go back to a previously saved map in case of problems while collecting the features.
Delete a map
If you want to discard a saved map, you can do it by pressing the 3-lines menu icon on the right side of the required map, and then pressing on the Delete button. This is not reversible!!!